Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals in 2016: 214,691; Deaths: 2,861

Posted: 
06/21/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Italy - IOM reports an estimated 214,691 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 19 June, arriving in Italy, Greece, Cyprus and Spain. Deaths so far this year are 2,861 compared with 1,838 through the first six months of 2015. In other words, fatalities on the Mediterranean Sea in 2016 stand at 1,020 ahead of last year’s mid-year total, although we remain almost two weeks shy of 2016’s mid-year point.

This week, IOM Libya released a report, “Maritime Incidents off the Libyan Coast” that counts 153 confirmed fatalities of migrants recorded by Libya’s coast guard, which has recovered the remains of dozens of drowned men, women and at least one child – virtually all from Sub-Saharan African countries – during this past spring. IOM is reviewing its Missing Migrants Project database to determine whether any of these 153 deaths should be added to its current total.

Here is the report
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B_3VYzW3ndOTR19LcWhOVU9xQUE&usp=drive_web

IOM’s Rome spokesman Flavio Di Giacomo reported Monday about 760 migrants had been rescued at sea and brought to port since our last report. On 17 June the Irish Navy ship “Lé Róisín” brought to Porto Empedocle 113 migrants and the bodies of two women who are believed to have died from asphyxiation. They had departed from Libya. On the same day, 441 migrants were brought to Trapani by the Dutch ship “Van Amstel,” having sailed for ten days after leaving Egypt. They informed IOM staff that they paid the equivalent of 2,200 - 2,400 Euros for the sea crossing.

IOM estimates that from 1 January to 19 June 2016 55,510 migrants arrived by sea to Italy. Last year, during this same period, arrivals were about 59,000.

 

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic, please go to:
https://missingmigrants.iom.int/sites/default/files/Mediterranean_Update_21_June_2016_1.pdf

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe
Learn more about Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Flavio Di Giacomo, IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email:  iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +302109919040, +302109912174, Email: knamia@iom.int
Abby Dwommoh at IOM Turkey, Tel: +903124551202, Email: adwommoh@iom.int
Amr Taha at IOM Egypt. Tel: +202-27365140, Email: iomegypt@iom.int
IOM Geneva: Joel Millman, Tel: +41.22.717.9486 – Mobile: +41.79.103.8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int or Leonard Doyle, Tel: + 41 79 285 7123, Email: ldoyle@iom.int
IOM Libya. Othman Belbeisi, Tel +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +21629794707 Email: ashassan@iom.int