Headquarters is responsible for the formulation of institutional policy, guidelines and strategy, standard-setting, quality control procedures and oversight and is composed of the following four departments under the Office of the Director General:

Director General and Deputy Director General

The Director General and the Deputy Director General are elected by the Council for a five-year term. They exercise constitutional authority to manage the Organization and carry out activities within its mandate by formulating coherent policies and ensuring that programme development is consistent with strategic priorities.