Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 13,170, Deaths: 272

Posted: 
02/21/17
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Switzerland - IOM reports that 13,170 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2017, through 19 February, with over 75 percent arriving in Italy and the rest in Greece and Spain. This compares with 90,180 through the first 50 days of 2016.

IOM Rome reports that the over 10,000 migrant arrivals in Italy before the end of February represents a significant increase compared with arrivals in the same period during the past two years, when slightly over 8,000 migrants made it to Italy by the end of February.  

IOM’s Missing Migrants Project reports an estimated 272 deaths at sea on various routes, compared with 420 through the first 50 days of 2016.

These figures do not include reports received by IOM Libya that as many as 100 fatalities may have occurred on Sunday (19/2) off Az Zawiyah, near Tripoli. They include at least 75 bodies found aboard a boat that washed ashore.

Traffickers reportedly stole the engine and left it to drift. Another six bodies were recovered on the beach and at least a dozen other migrants are missing, presumed drowned. A survivor, reportedly in a coma, was transferred to hospital. If confirmed these deaths would raise the total number of Mediterranean fatalities to over 365 through 20 February.

IOM Libya also reported Monday that last Friday (17/2), 125 migrants (105 men, 16 women and 4 children) were rescued at sea off Zuwara. On Saturday (18/2), 187 migrants were rescued off Az Zawiyah, and are currently at the Al Nasr detention centre.

Deaths of Migrants and Refugees: 1 Jan-19 Feb 2016 vs 1 Jan-19 Feb 2017

Region

2017

2016

Mediterranean

272

420

Europe

9

10

Middle East

10

27

North Africa

0

259

Horn of Africa

0

58

Sub-Saharan Africa

0

20

Southeast Asia

36

35

East Asia

0

0

US/Mexico

38

34

Central America

3

13

Caribbean

68

28

South America

0

10

Total

436

813

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic:  http://migration.iom.int/docs/MMP/170221_Mediterranean_Update.pdf

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe

Learn more about the Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information, please contact:
Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41 79 103 8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int
Sabine Schneider at IOM Germany, Tel: +49 30 278 778 17 Email: sschneider@iom.int
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email: iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
Abby Dwommoh, IOM Turkey; Tel: + Direct: +90 (0)312 454 3048| Mobile: +90 (533) 698 7285, Email: Adwommoh@iom.int  Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: maboulhosn@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Christine Petré, Tel. (Direct):  +216 29 240 448, Email: chpetre@iom.int
Hicham Hasnaoui at IOM Morocco, Tel: + 212 5 37 65 28 81, Email: hhasnaoui@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

<none>