Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 339,783; Deaths at Sea: 4,233

Posted: 
11/08/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Switzerland - IOM reports that 339,783 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 6 November, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy. Some 170,160 people have arrived in Greece and 163,989 in Italy during 2016. The total is well below the number of arrivals at this point last year, when 728,926 migrants and refugees had made the journey.

An estimated record 4,233 people have died trying to make the crossing in 2016, surpassing the 2015 total of 3,498 (1 January to 8 November).

According to most up-to-date Italian Ministry of Interior figures, the 163,989 migrants who arrived in Italy by sea to represent a 15 percent increase compared to the same period last year.

Since Friday’s update, a total of 4,493 migrants have been rescued.

Meanwhile, IOM Greece reports that there were 145 arrivals registered on 5 and 6 November on the islands of Lesvos, Kos, Leros, Chios and Megisti.

 161108_Arrivals_board (1) (3)

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic: 
http://migration.iom.int/docs/Mediterranean_Update_8_November_2016.pdf 
For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe
Learn more about Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email:  iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: aboulhosn@iom.int
Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41 79 103 8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int
Christine Beshay, IOM Egypt. Tel: + 20 2 273 651 40/1 Email: cbeshay@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

<none>