Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 354,993; Deaths at Sea: 4,742

Posted: 
12/13/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Switzerland - IOM reports that 354,804 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 13 December, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy..

Some 176,678 people have arrived by sea in Italy in 2016 - more than in either 2014 or 2015. Some 172,681 migrants and refugees arrived by sea in Greece during the same period, far fewer than in 2015.

Mediterranean Developments

Total arrivals by sea and deaths in the Mediterranean 2015-2016

 

1 January – 11 December 2016

1 January – 14 December 2015

Country of Arrival

Arrivals

Deaths

Deaths

Italy

176,678

 

4,244 

(Central Med. route)

ITALY 2,868
GREECE 627
SPAIN: 100

Greece

172,681

429

(Eastern Med. route)

Cyprus

189

Spain

5,445

(as of 30 September)

69

(Western Med. route)

Estimated Total

354,993

4,742

3,665

 

IOM Rome reported Monday 1,826 migrants were rescued at sea between Italy and Libya this past weekend. By late Monday they were being brought ashore. The Italian coastguard ship “Diciotti” recovered six corpses from a dinghy carrying 165 migrants.

Arrivals by sea to Italy - Main Countries of Origin

January – November 2016/2015 Comparison

(Source: Italian Ministry of Interior)

Main Countries of Origin

2016

2015

Nigeria

36,352

20,171

Eritrea

20,176

37,882

Guinea

12,534

2,045

Ivory Coast

11,556

3,175

Gambia

11,384

6,979

Senegal

9,643

5,212

Mali

9,416

5,307

Sudan

9,254

8,766

Bangladesh

7,578

5,039

Somalia

7,138

11,242

Tot. All Countries of Origin​

173,008

144,205

IOM Athens reported Monday a slight uptick in the number of migrants and refugees arriving by sea on the Greek islands over the weekend. On Friday IOM recorded arrivals of 138 migrants or refugees on Lesvos, 67 on Chios and 125 on Kalymnos for a single-day total of 305.  Over the following two days, a total of 117 arrivals were recorded.

The total number of migrant and refugee fatalities in the Mediterranean since the beginning of 2016 is now 4,742, including the deaths of those six migrants whose remains were discovered in a rubber dinghy over the weekend. This is 1,141 more deaths than at this point last year, when 3,665 people were reported drowned through 14 December 2015.

In related news, the German Ministry of Interior reported on Friday that for the month of November, Syria, Eritrea, Afghanistan, Iraq and Nigeria were the top five countries of origin for asylum seekers in Germany.

For the month, 17,566 arrivals of asylum seekers were registered in Germany, a slight deviation from the general trend of a decrease in numbers of arrivals, especially earlier in the year, when over 150,000 asylum seekers were recorded during the first nine weeks of 2016 (Oct: 15,178; Sept: 15,618; Aug: 18,143; July: 16,160; June: 16,335; May: 16,281; April: 15,941; March: 20,608; Feb: 61,428; Jan: 91,671).

The Ministry presented a consolidated figure of arrivals in September, showing that in the first three quarters of 2016, only 213,000 asylum seekers arrived in Germany - barely 24 percent of all of 2015’s arrivals (890,000 from Jan-Dec).

For 2016, the top arriving nationalities were:

  Jan-Nov 2016 Jan-Nov 2015
Syria: 264,586 136,271
Afghanistan: 125,612 26,742
Iraq: 95,187 26,251
Iran: 26,074 4,769
Eritrea: 17,396 10,203
Albania: 16,484 52,859
Pakistan: 15,058 7,716
Nigeria:  12,228 5,171
Russian Federation:  11,679  5,815

 

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic: 

http://migration.iom.int/docs/MMP/Mediterranean_Update_13_DEC_2016.pdf

 

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe  

Learn more about the Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:

Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41.79.103-8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int

Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 

Sabine Schneider, IOM Germany, Tel. +49 30 278 778 17  Email: sschneider@iom.int

IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email: iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 

Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int

Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: maboulhosn@iom.int

IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int

 

For information or interview requests in French:

Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int

Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

<none>