strategic vision

Established: 2008


The Ibero-American Forum on Migration and Development (FIBEMYD, Foro Iberoamericano sobre Migración y Dessarrollo) is a pillar of the Ibero-American Conference. FIBEMYD was established as a space to exchange good practices and coordinate consensus and actions shared by the Ibero-American nations and to put into action the decisions made by the Heads of States and Governments at the Fifteenth, Sixteenth and Seventeenth Ibero-American Summits, including the Commitment of Montevideo on Migration and Development and the Declaration of Salamanca.  Its common goal is to reach a common understanding on the principal impact of the crisis on migration and development with the aim of identifying priority programs and projects to mitigate its effects in Ibero-America.  FIBEMYD adopted at its first meeting the Cuenca Programme of Action focusing on migration and development, human rights and migration management. 


    Current Focus

    • Migration management
    • Migration and development
    • provide input for the design of programs and projects that will help mitigate the effects of the crisis on migration and development
    • human rights of migrants
    • continue to promote migration’s positive contributions and the protection of migrant and refugee human rights, regardless of immigration status
    • labour mobility
    • promote remittance movement, co-development, inclusion of migrants in the labour market, human rights, health and social protections of migrants

    Chairing Country
    Current Chair: Andorra
    Past Chairs: Guatemala

    Ibero-American General Secretariat


    Member States (22 participating states)

    • Andorra
    • Argentina
    • Bolivia
    • Brazil
    • Chile
    • Colombia
    • Costa Rica
    • Cuba
    • Dominican Republic
    • Ecuador
    • El Salvador
    • Guatemala
    • Honduras
    • Mexico
    • Nicaragua
    • Panama
    • Peru
    • Paraguay
    • Portugal
    • Spain
    • Uruguay
    • Venezuela

    Observer States (8 SEGIB Associate Observers)

    • Belgium
    • France
    • Haiti
    • Italy
    • Japan
    • Morocco
    • Netherlands
    • Philippines

    Observer Organizations (SEGIB Consultative Observers)

    • Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
    • International Labour Organisation (ILO)
    • International Organization for Migration (IOM)
    • Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA)
    • Latin American Development Bank (CAF)
    • Latin American Integration Association (LAIA)
    • Latin American School of Social Sciences (FLACSO)
    • Latin Union
    • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
    • Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)
    • Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
    • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
    • United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC)
    • United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
    • United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
    • United Nations World Food Programme (WFP)
    Contact information

    Paseo de Recoletos, 8 
    Madrid, 28012 Spain
    Tel.: (+34) 915 901 980