strategic vision

Type: Interregional forum on migration (regions covered: Europe - Asia - Americas)

Formal association with regional or multi-stakeholder organization: None

Established: 1985


The Intergovernmental Consultations on Migration, Asylum and Refugees (IGC) is an informal, non-decision-making forum for inter-governmental information exchange and policy debate on all issues of relevance to the management of international migratory flows. IGC is considered as the first inter-state consultation mechanism on migration. 


Current Thematic Focus

IGC places its principal focus on the exchange of national strategy, policy, best practices and data. Areas of thematic focus include:

  • Asylum and refugees
  • Border management, including admission, control and enforcement
  • Data (asylum, removal)
  • Country of origin information
  • Human smuggling and trafficking
  • Immigration (labor, student, family, business)
  • Integration, settlement and citizenship
  • International engagement on migration
  • Multidisciplinary Approach (country- and theme-specific)
  • Return, reintegration and readmission
  • Technology

Chairing Country

Current Chair: Sweden (2023-2024)

Past chairs: USA (2023), Netherlands (2022), United Kingdom (2021), Canada (2019-2020), Spain (2018-2019), Norway (2017-2018), Belgium (2015-2016), Australia (2014-2015), Denmark (2013-2014), New Zealand (2012-2013), Germany (2011-2012), USA (2010-2011), Finland (2009-2010), Switzerland (2008-2009), Sweden (2007-2008), Ireland (2006-2007), Netherlands (2005-2006), Canada (2004-2005), Norway (2003-2004), Belgium (2002-2003), UK (2001-2002), Australia (2000-2001).


IGC Secretariat is administratively hosted by the International Organization for Migration, under the terms of an Administrative Agreement.


Member States [called by IGC “Participating States”] (19 States)

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands, The
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

Note: Founding Members: Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and UK. 

Member organizations [called by IGC “Participating organizations”) (5 organizations)


Observer organizations  (1 organization)


Working Groups

IGC has the following working groups:

  • Asylum and Refugees Working Group
  • Country of Origin Information Working Group
  • Admission, Control and Enforcement Working Group
  • Technology Working Group
  • Immigration Working Group
  • Integration Working Group


Contact Information

Secretariat of the Intergovernmental Consultation on Migration, Asylum and Refugees (IGC)
Rue de Vermont 37-39
1202 Geneva, Switzerland
Tel: +41 (0) 229196600
Fax: +41 (0) 229196610
E-mail: admin @ igc. ch