International Migration Journal

The International Migration Journal is a refereed bimonthly review of the International Organization for Migration (IOM) on current migration issues as analysed by demographers, economists, and sociologists all over the world. The journal is edited by Carleton University and published online by Wiley. The editor at Carleton University, Dr. Howard Duncan, is responsible for the direction and content of the journal.

International Migration, Vol. 54(5) 2016

  • Editorial by Dr. Howard Duncan
  • Immigrants in the Old-Age Pension System: The Case of Sweden by Jan Ekberg and Thomas Lindh
  • Models of representation, Mobilization and Turnout: The Election of the Foreign Citizens' Council of the Province of Bologna by Djordje Sredanovic
  • Contextualizing Migrants' Strategies of Seeking Medical Care in Russia* byEkaterina Demintseva and Daniel Kashnitsky
  • Which Child Immigrants Face Earnings Disparity? Age-at-immigration, Ethnic Minority Status and Labour Market Attainment in Canada by Krishna Pendakur and Ravi Pendakur
  • Protecting the Welfare of Children and its Causal Effect on Limiting Mother's Labour Migration by Bilesha Weeraratne
  • Asymmetric Information under the Kafala Sponsorship System: Impacts on Foreign Domestic Workers’ Income and Employment Status in the GCC Countriesby Froilan T. Malit Jr. and George Naufal
  • Troubling the Fields: Choice, Consent, and Coercion of Canada's Seasonal Agricultural Workers by Stephanie J. Silverman and Amrita Hari
  • Growth Effects of Remittances in Bangladesh: Is there a U-shaped Relationship?by Gazi M. Hassan, Mamta Chowdhury and Mohammed Bhuyan
  • Reversing the brain drain: evidence from a Romanian brain networking organization by Alisa Petroff
  • Income Inequality in Host Countries and Remittances: A Discussion of the Determinants of Portuguese Emigrants' Remittances by Paulo Reis Mourao
  • The Short Term Effects of Immigrant Students on the Educational Achievements of Native-Born Students by Svetlana Chachashvili-Bolotin, Sabina Lissitsa, Yossi Shavit and Hanna Ayalon
  • The Determinants of Student Migration to Poland Based on the Opolskie Voivodeship Study by Sabina Kubiciel-Lodzińska and Bogdan Ruszczak

International Migration, Vol. 54(4) 2016

  • Editorial by Dr. Howard Duncan
  • The Effectiveness of Norway's Readmission Agreements with Iraq and Ethiopiaby Maja Janmyr
  • Asylum Provision: A Review of Economic Theories by Anjali Suriyakumaran and Yuji Tamura
  • Understanding Transit Asylum Migration: Evidence from Serbia by Vesna Lukić
  • Do asylum seekers and refugees choose destination countries? Evidence from large-scale surveys in Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka by Marie McAuliffe and Dinuk Jayasuriya
  • Missing the Boat: Australia and Asylum Seeker Deterrence Messaging by Caroline Fleay, John Cokley, Andrew Dodd, Linda Briskman and Larry Schwartz
  • Connecting Tenure Security with Durable Solutions to Internal Displacement: From Restitution of Property Rights to the Right to Adequate Housing by Patricia García Amado
  • Motherhood Motivations: African Refugee Women Resettled in Australia and Return Visits to a Country of First Asylum by Georgina Ramsay
  • DACA and the Surge in Unaccompanied Minors at the US-Mexico Border by Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes and Thitima Puttitanun
  • The Asylum-Integration Paradox: Comparing Asylum Support Systems and Refugee Integration in The Netherlands and the UK by Linda Bakker, Sin Yi Cheung and Jenny Phillimore
  • Voices of Nigerian Women Survivors of Trafficking Held in Italian Centres for Identification and Expulsion by Francesca Esposito, Carla R. Quinto, Francesca De Masi, Oria Gargano and Pedro Alexandre Costa
  • Contrasting Return Migrant Entrepreneurship Experiences in Javanese Villagesby Ratih Pratiwi Anwar and Carol Chan
  • Reintegration as an Emerging Vision of Justice for Victims of Human Traffickingby Luke S Bearup
  • Return Migration to India: Decision-Making among Academic Engineers and Scientists by Meghna Sabharwal and Roli Varma

International Migration, Vol. 54 (3) 2016

  • Editorial by Dr. Howard Duncan
  • Day Labourers' Work Related Injuries: An Assessment of Risks, Choices, and Policies by Edwin Meléndez, M. Anne Visser, Abel Valenzuela Jr and Nik Theodore
  • Socio-Cultural Incorporation of Skilled Migrants at Work: Employer and Migrant Perspectives by Micheline van Riemsdijk, Scott Basford and Alana Burnham
  • How Successful are Highly Qualified Return Migrants in the Lithuanian Labour Market? by Egidijus Barcevičius
  • Foreign Language Skills and Willingness to Move: The Case of a Spanish Regionby César Rodríguez-Gutiérrez and Juan Francisco Canal-Domínguez
  • What Moves the Highly Skilled and Why? Comparing Turkish Nationals in Canada and Germany by Saime Ozcurumez and Deniz Yetkin Aker
  • The Human Capital Model of Selection and Immigrant Economic Outcomes byGarnett Picot, Feng Hou and Hanqing Qiu
  • Native-Migrant Wage Differential Across Occupations: Evidence from Australia byAsad Islam and Jaai Parasnis
  • The Formation of Transnational Identity among French Immigrants Employed in French-Speaking Companies in Israel by Karin Amit and Shirly Bar-Lev
  • Irregular Immigration, Labour Market and Enforcement at the US-Mexico Border. Evidence from a Time-Series Analysis (1963–2014) by Fabrizio Costantino
  • Immigration Policies and the Factors of Migration from Developing Countries to South Korea: An Empirical Analysis by Ador R. Torneo
  • Homeland (Dis)Integrations: Educational Experience, Children and Return Migration to Albania by Zana Vathi, Veronika Duci and Elona Dhembo
  • The Implementation of Voting from Abroad: Evidence from the 2014 Turkish Presidential Election by Zeynep Şahin-Mencütek and M. Murat Erdoğan