Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals in 2016: 227,316; Deaths: 2,920

Posted: 
07/05/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Italy - IOM reports an estimated 227,316 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 3 July, arriving in Italy, Greece, Cyprus and Spain.

So far this year 2,920 deaths have been recorded, compared with 1,838 through the first six months of 2015. Migrant fatalities in the Mediterranean in 2016 are now 1,082 more than last year’s mid-year total. The 383 deaths in June – slightly fewer than 13 per day – were the highest monthly total for June in three years.

In the first three days of July, two landings took place in Italy. Some 352 rescued migrants were brought to Augusta and 349 to Catania.

The main departure country in 2016 has been Libya, followed by Egypt. Most of the rescue operations have occurred in the Channel of Sicily. Rescued migrants and refugees are brought to several ports in Sicily (Catania, Augusta, Porto Empedocle, Pozzallo, Palermo), Lampedusa, Calabria (Reggio Calabria, Crotone) and Apulia (Taranto).

IOM has staff deployed at the main landing points in Sicily (including Lampedusa), Calabria and Apulia. They provide legal assistance to those arriving by sea, monitor reception conditions and support the authorities in the identification of vulnerable groups.

Meanwhile in Greece, a total of 87 arrivals were recorded in the first three days in July.

IOM Greece has staff present in Lesvos, Samos, Chios, Leros and Crete. It works closely with the relevant authorities to identify vulnerable migrants, including unaccompanied minors, the elderly, people with medical needs and families with children.  Vulnerable groups are referred to the relevant authorities to be provided with the necessary care.

 


Total arrivals by sea and deaths in the Mediterranean 2015-2016

1 Jan – 3 July 2016

1 Jan – 30 June 2015

 Country of Arrival

Arrivals

Deaths

Arrivals

Deaths

Italy

67,538

2,499
(Central Med route)

70,354

1,838
(all Med routes)

Greece

158,398*

376
(Eastern Med route)

71,615

Cyprus

28

na

Spain

1,352**

45
(Western Med and Western African routes)

na

Estimated Total

227,316

2,920

141,969

1,838

Data on deaths of migrants compiled by IOM GMDAC.
All numbers are minimum estimates.
Arrivals estimates based on data from respective governments and IOM field offices.
*as of 3 July
**as of 30 April
_______________

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic, please go to:
https://missingmigrants.iom.int/sites/default/files/Mediterranean_Update_3_July_2016.pdf

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe

Learn more about Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email:  iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +302109919040, +302109912174, Email: knamia@iom.int
Abby Dwommoh at IOM Turkey, Tel: +903124551202, Email: adwommoh@iom.int
Amr Taha at IOM Egypt. Tel: +202-27365140, Email: iomegypt@iom.int
IOM Geneva: Itayi Viriri, Tel: Mobile: +41.79.285.4366, Email: iviriri@iom.int or Leonard Doyle, Tel: + 41 79 285 7123, Email: ldoyle@iom.int
IOM Libya. Othman Belbeisi, Tel +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +21629794707 Email: ashassan@iom.int