Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 298,474; Deaths at Sea: 3,213

Posted: 
09/20/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Italy - IOM reports that 298,474 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 18 September, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy. This figure is well short of the 469,869 arrivals recorded by IOM at this point in 2015.

Some 165,409 people have arrived in Greece and 130,561 in Italy during 2016.

For the latest Mediterranean update, please visit:
https://missingmigrants.iom.int/sites/default/files/Mediterranean_Update_20_September_2016.pdf

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe 
Learn more about Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email:  iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: aboulhosn@iom.int
Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41.79.103-8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel.: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

 

<none>