Tripoli Process (Joint Africa-EU Declaration on Migration and Development)

Established 2001


The Tripoli Process is a series of sequenced and formal, high-level political meetings following up on the original meeting's Declaration, and one in which binding decisions can be pursued or followed up.  It is also a full-African-continent-with-full-EU initiative, and as such is not characterized by regular, close, informal consultations among all members.  It can be viewed as a pillar within the broader Joint Africa-EU Strategic Partnership. 

The EU-Africa Declaration on Migration and Development adopted at the Tripoli meeting led to the establishment of the European Union (EU)-Africa Partnership on Migration, Mobility and Employment (MME).  [KG1] MME is now a key part of the EU-Africa strategic partnership within the framework of the joint EU-Africa Declaration on Migration and Development.  

Current Focus

Specific areas of discussion include:

  • concern for the human rights and wellbeing of migrants
  • human resources and brain drain
  • irregular migration
  • migration and development
  • migration management challenges
  • opportunities for regular migration
  • peace and security
  • protection of refugees
  • sharing best practices


82 Members (53 AU Member States and 28 EU Member States]

Algeria Egypt Libya Senegal
Angola Equatorial Guinea Lithuania Seychelles
Austria Eritrea Luxembourg Sierra Leone
Belgium Estonia Madagascar Slovakia
Benin Ethiopia Malawi Slovenia
Botswana Finland Mali Somalia
Bulgaria France Malta South Africa, Republic of
Burkina Faso Gabon Mauritania South Sudan
Burundi Gambia Mauritius Spain
Cameroon Germany Morocco Sudan
Cape Verde Ghana Mozambique Swaziland
Central African Republic Greece Namibia Sweden
Chad Guinea Netherlands Tanzania
Comoros Guinea-Bissau Niger Togo
Côte d’Ivoire Hungary Nigeria Tunisia
Croatia Ireland Poland Uganda
Cyprus Italy Portugal United Kingdom
Czech Republic Kenya Republic of the Congo Zambia
Democratic Republic of the Congo Latvia Romania Zimbabwe
Denmark Lesotho Rwanda    
Djibouti Liberia São Tomé and Príncipe    

Observer States



Observer Organizations

Conseil des Organisations Non Gouvernementales d'Appui au Développement (CONGAD, Council of Non-Governmental Development Support)

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)


International Labour Organization (ILO),

International Organization for Migration (IOM),

United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA),

Organisation of African Unity (OAU),

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD),

West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA),

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS),

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR),

United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF),

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

United Nations World Food Programme (WFP)



No official Secretariat.  IOM provides support to capacity building activities targeting both ECOWAS institutions and its Member States. 



To be developed


Recent Meetings


Previous Meetings

4th EU- Africa summit, Brussels, April 02-03, 2014
Africa–EU Summit “Adoption of the Second Action Plan, which covers 2011–2013,” 29–30 November 2010, Tripoli, Libya
2nd Africa-EU Summit, Lisbon, Portugal, 8 December – 9 December 2007
The EU-African Union meeting “The Joint Africa–EU Declaration on Migration and Development” (‘Tripoli Conference’), 22–23 November 2006, Tripoli, Libya
1st Africa-EU Summit, Cairo, Egypt, April 2000