Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 351,080; Deaths at Sea: 4,715

Posted: 
12/06/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Switzerland - IOM reports that 351,080 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 4 December, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy, compared with 883,393 by this time in 2015. Some 173,571 people have arrived by sea in Italy and 171,875 in Greece during 2016.

The total number of migrant and refugee fatalities in the Mediterranean since the beginning of 2016 is now 4,715. This is 1,148 more deaths than at this point last year, when 3,567 men, women and children were reported drowned through November 30.

A total of 124 arrivals by sea were registered between 2-4 December on the Greek island of Lesvos. According to data collected by IOM staff on the islands, migrant arrivals in Greece by sea in 2016 have been approximately 42 percent adult male, 21 percent adult female and 37 percent children.

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic: 
http://migration.iom.int/docs/Mediterranean_Update_06_DEC_2016.pdf
For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe 
Learn more about the Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email: iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245 51202, Email: maboulhosn@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

<none>