Mediterranean Migrant Arrivals Reach 358,156; Deaths at Sea: 4,901

Posted: 
12/20/16
Themes: 
Humanitarian Emergencies, Missing Migrants

Switzerland - IOM reports that 358,156 migrants and refugees entered Europe by sea in 2016 through 19 December, arriving mostly in Greece and Italy.

IOM Rome reported Monday that according to Italy’s Ministry of Interior, 179,523 migrants arrived by sea this year through December 19, almost 20 percent more than in 2015.  Another 700 migrants have been rescued in the Mediterranean and brought to Italy since our last report on December 15.

Meanwhile some 172,999 migrants and refugees have arrived by sea in Greece during 2016, far fewer than in 2015.  IOM Athens reports 27 arrivals on the island of Leros on 16 December. On December 17 one migrant arrived by sea on Lesvos, followed by 87 more on 18 December.

With just 12 days remaining in 2016, IOM reports 4,901 migrants and refugees dead or missing presumed drowned in the Mediterranean. This compares with 3,777 for all of last year.

The mortality rate in 2016, far exceeds that of 2015. This year one migrant has died for every 73 migrants who arrive safely. In 2015 the figure was one death for every 267 successful crossings.

Mediterranean Developments

Total arrivals by sea and deaths in the Mediterranean 2015-2016

 

1 January – 19 December 2016

1 January – 31 December 2015

 Country of Arrival

Arrivals

Deaths

Arrivals

Deaths

Italy

179,523

 

4,403
(Central Med. route)

153,842

3,777
(all Med routes)

Greece

172,999

429
(Eastern Med. route)

853,650

Cyprus

189

Na

Spain

5,445

(as of 30 September)

69
(Western Med. route)

Na

Estimated Total

358,156

4,901

1,007,492

3,777

For the latest Mediterranean Update infographic: 
https://www.iom.int/sites/default/files/press_release/file/Mediterranean_Update_19_DEC_2016.pdf

For latest arrivals and fatalities in the Mediterranean, please visit: http://migration.iom.int/europe 
Learn more about the Missing Migrants Project at: http://missingmigrants.iom.int

For further information please contact:
Joel Millman at IOM Geneva, Tel: +41 79 103 8720, Email: jmillman@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo at IOM Italy, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int 
Sabine Schneider, IOM Germany, Tel: +49 30 278 778 17  Email: sschneider@iom.int
Julia Black at IOM GMDAC, Tel: +49 30 278 778 27, Email: jblack@iom.int
IOM Greece: Daniel Esdras, Tel: +30 210 9912174, Email: iomathens@iom.int or Kelly Namia, Tel: +30 210 9919040, +30 210 9912174, Email: knamia@iom.int 
Mazen Aboulhosn at IOM Turkey, Tel: +9031245-51202, Email: maboulhosn@iom.int
IOM Libya: Othman Belbeisi, Tel: +216 29 600389, Email: obelbeisi@iom.int  or Ashraf Hassan, Tel: +216297 94707, Email: ashassan@iom.int

For information or interview requests in French:
Florence Kim, OIM Genève, Tel: +41 79 103 03 42, Email: fkim@iom.int
Flavio Di Giacomo, OIM Italie, Tel: +39 347 089 8996, Email: fdigiacomo@iom.int

<none>