IOM’s Staff Welfare

Our individual and collective health and wellbeing is vital to us as employees and as colleagues, so that we can produce our work efficiently and with compassion for the people we serve.

This page offers information and resources to help IOM staff reflect and learn about their own skills, talents and coping mechanisms. We have provided information on a number of modules to help you look at your wellbeing and mental health. The modules are:

Understanding and accepting difference – here is an opportunity to review and consider our approaches to mental health. How inclusive are we?  

Giving and getting help – how good is your self-care? You can explore this through a presentation which includes advice from colleagues. Managers also have an opportunity, through an online program, to review relevant information in how to recognize and support staff with mental health problems.

My wellbeing – how easy it is to forget to look after ourselves as we work to help others. The online programmes on wellbeing and stress management will help you think about how well you look after yourself and have recommendations on enhancing your approach.

My mental health – some of us may develop more serious mental health problems such as anxiety, depression, substance use and adverse reactions to critical incidents. These animations will help you learn more about each one and how to get help. 

 

accepting and understanding differencegiving and getting helpmy mental healthwellbeinglooking after us

We also have other online programmes: Deployment, and Robust Emergency Management. We have begun a library of reading material and links on wellbeing and mental health. We will also be sending a bulletin regularly.

If you have any questions, please contact us at swo@iom.int.

Thank you.

The Work of Staff Welfare in IOM

WHAT WE DO

A. We provide individual confidential counselling. 
B. We have educational material and offer webinars. We have many documents and online programmes which are available here: https://www.iom.int/iom-staff-welfare
C. Wellbeing Support Networks -to help colleagues establish and provide and offer wellbeing activities.

WHO WE ARE

Global:
Anna Eliatamby,  aeliatamby@iom.int

MENA:
Johanna Schubert: jschubert@iom.int
Fardin Shadab: fshadab@iom.int
Anna Aisenbrey: aaisenbrey@iom.int

Africa
Nigeria: Japhet Makema Ayele: jayele@iom.int
South Sudan: Judy Mbuthia jwmbuthia@iom.int
Africa: Lindsay Carrera swo@iom.int
Africa: Agathe Ragiro: aragira@iom.int

Asia Pacific
Laura Hickey: lhickey@iom.int
Jenny Fey: jfey@iom.int

Europe
Emernela Nanaj: Enanaj@iom.int
Ana Marta Taveres: atavares@iom.int
Fardin Shadab: fshadab@iom.int
 
Americas 
Margherita Brichetto mbrichetto@iom.int
Andrea Avila de Garay: agaray@iom.int.

Staff Welfare Remote Service Team Contact Details

Language Team Member
Spanish Andrea Avila de Garay: agaray@iom.int
Lindsay Carrera: swo@iom.int
Portuguese Ana Marta Tavares da Rocha Fortuna Dasi: atavares@iom.int
French Agathe Ragira: aragira@iom.int
Ermenela Nanaj: enanaj@iom.int
Margherita Brichetto: mbrichetto@iom.int
German Anna Aisenbrey: aaisenbrey@iom.int
Ermenela Nanaj: enanaj@iom.int
Italian Margherita Brichetto: mbrichetto@iom.int 
Albanian Ermenela Nanaj: enanaj@iom.int
Dari Fardin Shadab: fshadab@iom.int
Arabic Anna Aisenbrey: aaisenbrey@iom.int
English Laura Hickey: lhickey@iom.int and the rest of the team
For general enquiries: swo@iom.int